Low FODMAP Diet Blues

I am starting a new journey this weekend. I’ve put it off for over a week now because it is very intimidating to me. If you’ve read any of my previous blog posts you’ll know that I have Non-Celiac Gluten Sensitivity and my GI doctor is fairly certain IBS as well. I’ve still been having some GI issues, so my GI doctor told me I need to start the low FODMAP diet. After being on it for a few months I will be allowed to start re-introducing foods one by one to see what does or does not agree with my stomach.

What does FODMAP stand for you ask?

  • Fermentable – broken down by bacteria in the large intestine
  • Oligosaccharides – molecules made up of individual sugars joined together in a chain
  • Disaccharides – double sugar molecule
  • Monosaccharides – single sugar molecule
  • And Polyols – sugar alcohols

The low FODMAP diet is suggested for people with IBS or other digestive orders in which more serious conditions have been ruled out. Basically carbohydrates vary greatly in their composition. The idea is that people with IBS cannot handle the short-chain carbs because of how poorly they absorb and rapidly ferment. The gas that is produced in the intestines is one of the major contributors to the symptoms of IBS.

Common FODMAPs  include:

  • Onion
  • Garlic
  • What/gluten
  • Beans
  • Mushrooms
  • Apples
  • Blackberries
  • Cherries
  • Sausage
  • Cashews
  • Fructose
  • Hummus
  • Most jams
  • Most teas
  • Wine (more than 1 glass)
  • Whey protein
  • Lactose

Eliminating some of my favorite foods when I already have to eat gluten free is just not appealing to me at all. I want to feel better so I’m going to do it, I am just dreading trying to figure out what I can and can’t eat all over again. I know it will get easier like going gluten free did, but I remember how daunting that was in the beginning and it makes me feel like I need to hunker down in my house and eat nothing but baked chicken without my favorite spices, which then makes me want to cry. I LOVE garlic. Garlic is my seasoning for everything. That was honestly the first thing on the list that I saw and immediately was like “oh hell no”. Sigh.

Anyone else out there on this very sad diet with me?  Any tips or suggestions for recipes would be greatly appreciated as I start this sad new journey for the next few months!

hey-girl-let-me-get-your-mind-of-that-low-fodmap-diet-thumb

I know it has a spelling error, but…I mean at this point who cares, right?

Leave a Reply

